CHA 2009 Award Winners
Given annually to distinguished individuals who have demonstrated an outstanding commitment to health care

J. Kendall Anderson, president/CEO of John Muir Health in Walnut Creek, and Albert Greene, former president/CEO of Valley Presbyterian Hospital in Van Nuys, have been awarded CHA’s highest honor, the Award of Merit. The award is presented for outstanding contributions to the California health care community over an extended period.

The Ritz E. Heerman Memorial Award, presented for outstanding contributions to the improvement of patient care, has been given to LAC & USC Healthcare Network in Los Angeles.

The Certificate of Distinction, given for exemplary devotion to volunteerism on behalf of hospitals and health care, was presented to Edward Palacios, RN, CEO of San Joaquin Valley Rehabilitation Hospital in Fresno.

Life Membership, presented to individuals who have made significant service contributions to CHA upon retirement from active participation in health care administration, was given to Charles Guenther, former CEO, Eastern Plumas Health Care, Portola; Jim Hoss, former executive director, San Bernardino Mountains Community Hospital District, Lake Arrowhead; Tom Johnson, former CEO, Kaweah Delta Health Care District, Visalia; Claire Kuczkowski, former CEO, Trinity Hospital, Weaverville; Michael Madden, vice president, advocacy and development, Providence Health System, Burbank; David Mechtenberg, former CEO, Ridgecrest Regional Hospital; Gene Marie O’Connell, former executive administrator, San Francisco General Hospital and Trauma Center; William Piché, CEO, Good Samaritan Hospital, San Jose; Debbie Scaife, RN, administrator/director, patient care services, Southern Humbolt Community Healthcare District, Garberville; and Maureen Zehntner, former CEO, University of California, Irvine.

Leadership in Governance, which recognizes hospital or health system board trustees who demonstrate a commitment to health care policies and issues, was given to Kurt Hahn, board member, North Sonoma County Hospital District, Healdsburg; Curtis Morris, director, Pomona Valley Hospital Medical Center; and Marcelo Rivera, MD, board chair, Palomar Pomerado Health District, San Diego.