General Information

Ritz E. Heerman Memorial Award

The Ritz E. Heerman Memorial Award, named in honor of CHA’s first president, is granted only for a specific outstanding contribution to the improvement of patient care in California – such as the development of new equipment, techniques, cost-savings strategies or patient-safety measures. It is not to be made for general contributions in the health care field. An individual, organization, hospital, health system or provider may qualify for the award, but the award is not limited to such organizations.


Philip Robinson, MD, Medical Director, Infection Prevention and Hospital Epidemiology, St. Joseph Health, Hoag Memorial Hospital Presbyterian and Hoag Orthopedic Institute

Bay Area Regional Help Desk Consortium

  • Dayna Long, MD, UCSF Benioff Children’s Hospital Oakland
  • Joanie Rothstein, Zuckerberg SF General Hospital and Trauma Center
  • Laura Gottlieb, MD, UCSF Department of Family and Community Medicine
  • Kimi Tahara, Alameda Health System
  • Rebecca Alvarado, LCSW, Alameda Health System

Rekha K. Murthy, MD, Medical Director, Department of Hospital Epidemiology, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, Los Angeles  


  • Roneet Lev, MD, Director of Operations, Emergency Department, Scripps Mercy Hospital, San Diego
  • Steven Z. Pantilat, MD, Director, Palliative Care Quality Network, Professor of Clinical Medicine, Alan M. Kates and John M. Burnard Endowed Chair in Palliative Care, University of California, San Francisco

Mark D. Smith, MD, MBA, President/CEO, California HealthCare Foundation

Gordon and Betty Moore, Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation

Marcia Nelson, M.D., Vice President, Medical Affairs, Enloe Medical Center, Chico

Avi Zaraya, Director of Volunteer and Chaplain Services, Kaiser Permanente


  • Henry Ornela, Chief Operating Officer, LAC & USC Healthcare Network
  • Stephanie Hall, MD, Chief Medical Officer, LAC & USC Healthcare Network
  • Irene Recendez, Chief Nursing Officer, LAC & USC Healthcare Network

Michael Hunn, Chief Executive, Providence Little Company of Mary Medical Center, Torrance

Lynn Behrens, CEO, Loma Linda University Medical Center

Martin Brotman, M.D., Chief Executive Officer, California Pacific Medical Center, San Francisco

Julie McKown, Registered Respiratory Therapist, St. Luke’s Hospital, San Francisco


  • Susie Flinn and the Seton Coastside Associates, Administrative Director, Seton Coastside and Nursing, Seton Medical Center Coastside, Moss Beach
  • Malinda Mitchell, Retired President/CEO, Stanford Hospital and Clinics, Palo Alto; Project Director, New Directions, Atherton


  • Ju C. Rhee, M.D., Pomona Valley Hospital Medical Center
  • Lift Team of John Muir/Mt. Diablo Health System, Walnut Creek


  • Blair L. Sadler, President/CEO, Children’s Hospital and Health Center, San Diego
  • Robert Sillen, Executive Director, Santa Clara Valley Health & Hospital System, San Jose
  • Lori Turner, R.N., President, Diablo Chapter of Mended Hearts, Inc., John Muir Medical Center, Walnut Creek

Bryan R. Rogers, President/CEO, Riverside Community Hospital


  • Robert E. Chason, Chief Operating Officer, University of California, Davis, Medical Center, Sacramento
  • Annette M. Walker, Senior Vice President, Memorial Care, Long Beach


  • Consuelo C. Diaz, Chief Executive Officer, Rancho Los Amigos National Rehabilitation Center, Downey
  • J. Duffy Watson, President, Henry Mayo Newhall Memorial Hospital, Valencia


  • Roger Seaver, President, Northridge Hospital Medical Center Family Practice Center and Residency Program, Northridge
  • Samuel W. Downing, Chief Executive Officer, Salinas Valley Memorial Healthcare System, Salinas


  • Michael Rembis, Chief Executive Officer, John F. Kennedy Memorial Hospital, Indio
  • Joyce Preston, Program Manager, Health Beginnings Program, John F. Kennedy Memorial Hospital, Indio


  • Kenneth J. Clark, FACHE, Director, Comprehensive Homeless Center of the Veterans Affairs Medical Center-West Los Angeles, Los Angeles
  • Edward Bland, Chair, Rural Healthcare Center, Sacramento

Walter S. Graf, M.D., Medical Director, Daniel Freeman Hospitals Paramedic School, Inglewood


  • Thomas P. Hayes, Chief Executive Officer, Fremont-Rideout Health Group, Yuba City
  • Paul Russell, R.N., Medical Disaster Management Coordinator, Emergency Medical Services Agency/Orange County Health Care Agency, Santa Ana
  • Raymond Schultze, M.D., Director, UCLA Medical Center, Los Angeles


  • Robert M. Sloane, President, Anaheim Memorial Hospital, Anaheim
  • Jolene Tornabeni, Senior Vice President, Mercy Healthcare, San Diego

Don Harper Mills, M.D., J.D., Medical-Legal Consultant, Los Angeles

Kenneth Tyler, President, Truck Insurance Exchange, Los Angeles


  • Robert W. White, Director, Los Angeles County Department of Health Services, Los Angeles
  • Stanley A. Skillicorn, M.D., Director of Medical Affairs, San Jose Hospital, San Jose

Joseph L. Zem, Administrator, St. Luke’s Hospital, San Francisco

George Walker, President, Walker and Company

Stephen W. Gamble, Associate Executive Director, Hospital Council of Southern California, Los Angeles

Jack J. Fulton, Liability Manager, Farmers Insurance Group

Emery B. Dowell, Associate Director, California Hospital Association, Sacramento

Carl A. Gottschalk, West Valley Hospital, Encino

Harold H. Hixson, University of California Hospitals, San Francisco


  • Samuel J. Tibbits, California Hospital, Los Angeles
  • W. Glenn Ebersole, Executive Director, Hospital Council of Southern California, Los Angeles