General Information

Leadership in Governance

This award recognizes hospital or health system board trustees who demonstrate a commitment to health care policies and issues. As health care organizations become more complex to govern, it is crucial that hospital/health system trustees participate in active decision-making and strategic thinking needed to anticipate the future demands of the health care marketplace. The Leadership in Governance Award recognizes trustees who have met these increasing challenges; shown an outstanding commitment to their communities; given exemplary service as active, informed and dedicated trustees; and provided leadership, strategic planning and support to their hospitals or systems.


Charles T. Munger, Chairman, Good Samaritan Hospital, Los Angeles


  • Joseph Wilkins, Vice Chair, St. Joseph Hoag Health, Irvine
  • James B. Smith, III, Former Chair, Board of Directors, Sharp HealthCare, La Jolla

Patrice Koda Coyle, Dignity Health, Sacramento Service Area Community Board


  • Ronald Nelson, Trustee, Alameda Health System, Oakland
  • Larry Schallock, Board Member, Tri-City Healthcare District, Oceanside

David Reeder, Board of Directors, El Camino Healthcare District, Mountain View

Rose Pak, Trustee, Chinese Hospital, San Francisco


  • Brady Myers, President, Board of Directors, Colusa Regional Medical Center, Colusa
  • Matthew Y. C. Lin, M.D., Vice Chairman, Board of Directors, AHMC Healthcare, Inc., Alhambra
  • T. E. “Ted” Kleiter, Board Chair, Palomar Pomerado Health, Escondido

Sherman Balch, Chair, Board of Trustees, St. Rose Hospital


  • Curtis Morris, Director, Pomona Valley Hospital Medical Center
  • Marcelo Rivera, MD, Chairman of the Board, Palomar Pomerado Health District
  • Kurt Hahn, Member District Board of Directors, Healdsburg District Hospital


  • Darlene Garrahy, Trustee, Tri-City Healthcare District, Oceanside
  • Nathan Olivas, Board Vice President, Salinas Valley Memorial Healthcare System


  • Norman Coulson, Chairman of the Board, Providence Saint Joseph Medical Center, Burbank
  • LeRoy Trippel, Chairman of the Board, Tulare District Healthcare System


  • Alan Larson, M.D., Chair, Strategic Planning Committee, and Former Chairman of the Board, Palomar Pomerado Health, San Diego
  • Harry M. Goldstein, Chairman of the Board, Eisenhower Medical Center, Rancho Mirage


  • Lester Cufaude, Governing Board President, Mayers Memorial Hospital District, Fall River Mills
  • Ron Flores, Past Chairman, Madera Community Hospital Board of Trustees
  • Albert Ghirardelli, Esq., Chairman of the Board, Providence Holy Cross Medical Center, Mission Hill
  • Ronald A. Mitchell, Board Chairman, Tri-City Healthcare District, Oceanside


  • Michael Baird, M.D., chair, Enloe Medical Center Board of Trustees, Chico
  • Thomas J. Mostert, president, Pacific Union Conference of Seventh-Day Adventists, and chair, Adventist Health Board of Directors, Westlake Village
  • Jack Wise, chair, Oakmont Mortgage, Woodland Hills, and chair, Providence Health System, Southern California Region, San Fernando Valley Service Area


  • Gordon K. Foster, Board Chair, Bakersfield Memorial Hospital
  • Dennis O’Connell, Board Chair, Sutter Health, Sacramento
  • Richard Powers, M.D., Family Practice Physician, and President, West County Healthcare Foundation, Sebastopol


  • Tom Mullen, Supervisor, Riverside County Board of Supervisors
  • Patricia T. Ross, President, Board of Directors, Tulare Local Health Care District