General Information

CHA Presents 2010 Awards to Health Care Leaders

Martha Marsh, former president/CEO of Stanford Hospital and Clinics in Palo Alto, received CHA’s highest honor, the Award of Merit, at the December CHA Board meeting. The Award of Merit is given for outstanding contributions to the California health care community over an extended period.

The Ritz E. Heerman Memorial Award, given for outstanding contributions to the improvement of patient care, was presented to Avi Zaraya, director of volunteer and chaplain services at Kaiser Permanente, Woodland Hills.

Dennis Litos, CEO of Doctors Medical Center in Modesto, received the Certificate of Distinction, given for exemplary devotion to volunteerism on behalf of hospitals and health care.

Sherman Balch, board chair of St. Rose Hospital in Hayward, received the Leadership in Governance award, which recognizes hospital or health system board trustees who demonstrate a commitment to health care policies and issues.

Life Membership, presented to individuals who have made significant service contributions to CHA upon retirement from active participation in health care administration, was given to Martha Marsh, Larry Ainsworth, former president/CEO of St. Joseph Hospital in Orange, and William Haug, former president/CEO of Children’s Hospital Central California in Madera.