General Information

2019 CHPAC Board of Directors
Board Members Establish CHPAC Policies

A 21-member Board of Directors, comprised of hospital and health system leaders from across the state, governs CHPAC.

CHPAC contributes to and endorses candidates only after careful deliberation and approval by the CHPAC Board, which considers:

  • Candidate recommendations from hospital and community leaders.
  • Candidates’ knowledge, philosophy and positions on health care issues, as well as their willingness to listen to local hospital input.

Executive Committee

Deborah Rubens
Director, Human Resources
Shriners Hospitals for Children Northern California, Sacramento

Past Chair
Sara Steinhoffer
Vice President, Government Relations
Sharp HealthCare, San Diego

Past Chair
Sherri Sager
Chief Government/ Community Relations Officer
Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital Stanford, Palo Alto

Thomas Hiltachk
Attorney at Law
Bell, McAndrews & Hiltachk, LLP, Sacramento

Carmela Coyle
President & CEO
California Hospital Association, Sacramento

Andrea Daugherty
CHPAC Executive Director
California Hospital Association, Sacramento


Jason Clark
Managing Director
Huron Consulting Group, San Francisco

Jeff Corless
Managing Director
Venture Strategic, Irvine

Shannon Graham
Assistant Director of Volunteer, 
Health Career and Spiritual Care Services
Salinas Valley Memorial Healthcare System, Salinas

James Holmes
Redlands Community Hospital, Redlands 

Deborah Kallick
Vice President, Government and Industry Relations
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, Los Angeles

Kenneth McFarland
Chief Executive Officer
Fountain Valley Regional Hospital and Medical Center, Fountain Valley

Fred Ortega
Corporate Director, Government Relations
Prime Healthcare Services, Ontario

Linda Van Fulpen
Manager, Volunteer Services
Sharp Grossmont Hospital, La Mesa

Dr. Mary Wickman
Director, Nursing Program
Vanguard, Costa Mesa

Association Representatives

Hospital Council

Bryan Bucklew
Hospital Council Northern and Central California, Sacramento

Jo Coffaro, MPA
Regional Vice President
Hospital Council Northern and Central California, Sacramento


Jennifer Bayer
Director of Public Affairs
Hospital Association of Southern California, Los Angeles


Dimitrios Alexiou
Hospital Association of San Diego and Imperial Counties, San Diego

Lisa Sontag
Director, Operations & Member Relations
Hospital Association of San Diego and Imperial Counties, San Diego


Anne O’Rourke
Senior Vice President, Federal Relations
California Hospital Association, Washington D.C.


Andrea Daugherty
CHPAC Executive Director
California Hospital Association

Lauren Moran
CHPAC Coordinator
California Hospital Association