News Headlines Article

HHS expanding rural hospital project
Modern Healthcare

HHS will expand the CMS’ Rural Community Hospital Demonstration through the Affordable Care Act, a move that will allow for up to another 20 small rural hospitals in certain states to be eligible for better reimbursement for inpatient services. Ten hospitals already participate in the program.

Rural community hospitals participating must be located in one of the following 20 states with the lowest population density: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah and Wyoming.