CHA News Article

Vanguard Awards Presented at CHPSO’s Second Annual Meeting

Patient safety organizations (PSOs) were created to facilitate the protected collection and analysis of incident data to identify and create safer delivery of quality care to patients. PSOs will only be successful in this mission if they have active engagement and submission of incident reports from their member hospitals. During the California Hospital Patient Safety Organization (CHPSO) Second Annual Meeting held April 8 and 9, Executive Director Dr. Rory Jaffe presented CHPSO’s Vanguard Awards to members who exemplify the necessary follow-through by submitting incident data and consistently participating in patient safety initiatives and learning opportunities. The four recipients of the 2012 Vanguard Award are:

  • John Muir Health – Accepted by Dr. Roy Kaplan, executive medical director, quality and safety
  • NorthBay Healthcare Group – Accepted by Mary Dickey, director, accreditation and licensure, patient safety & privacy
  • St. Joseph Health – Accepted by Machelle Theel, director of clinical excellence
  • Sutter Health – Accepted by Teresa L. Wallace, MSW, CPHRM, CPHQ, director of healthcare risk

CHPSO extends its appreciation to these organizations for their commitment to helping eliminate preventable patient harm.