CHA News Article

Linda Burnes Bolton Selected to Receive 2016 TRUST Award From HRET

The Health Research & Educational Trust (HRET) of the American Hospital Association (AHA) has named Linda Burnes Bolton, DrPH, RN, FAAN, as the recipient of its 2016 TRUST Award. Burnes Bolton is the system chief nurse executive, vice president for nursing, chief nursing officer and director of nursing research at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center in Los Angeles.

Established in 2003, the TRUST Award honors individuals who have exhibited visionary leadership in the health care field and who symbolize HRET’s mission to use research and education to improve health care quality in policy and practice. HRET presents the annual TRUST Award to a health care leader who has made significant contributions to improving the U.S. health care delivery system.

“Linda is passionate, influential and her expertise and research are at the forefront of health care,” said Michael Rock, MD, chair of the HRET Board of Trustees. “She is most deserving of the TRUST Award this year, and her work has made real, significant improvements for patient care and the work we are doing in the field.”

Burnes Bolton’s research, teaching and clinical expertise includes nursing and patient care outcomes; and improving organization performance, quality care and cultural diversity within the health professions. She is co-investigator of the regional Collaborative Alliance for Nursing Outcomes research team and was recently elected to the National Academy of Medicine, considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine. In addition, she served on the American Organization of Nurse Executive board of directors and as president in 2015. She has a strong background and leadership role in the nursing profession; has done extensive work around population health and equitable care; and serves on the board of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, among many other governance roles.

The attached press release includes the full announcement from HRET. For more information about the TRUST Award, visit