CHA News Article

Congressional Leaders Name Deficit Reduction ‘Super Committee’ Members

U.S. House and Senate leaders from both parties named their choices this week for the bicameral “super committee,” which has been tasked with identifying at least $1.2 trillion in deficit-reduction savings by Nov. 23 (see Aug. 5 CHA News).

House Speaker John Boehner (R-OH) chose House Republican Conference Chair Jeb Hensarling (R-TX), Ways and Means Chair Dave Camp (R-MI), and Energy and Commerce Chair Fred Upton (R-MI). Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY) selected Sens. Jon Kyl (R-AZ), Pat Toomey (R-PA) and Rob Portman (R-OH).

Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid (D-NV) appointed Sens. Patty Murray (D-WA), Max Baucus (D-MT) and John Kerry (D-MA). House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) chose Reps. Xavier Becerra (D-CA), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD) and James Clyburn (D-SC). Hensarling and Murray will co-chair the committee.

In naming her choices, Pelosi called for a balance of spending cuts and revenue options, and protection for entitlement programs such as Medicare, Medicaid and Social Security.
Congress must accept or reject the super committee’s recommendations by Dec. 23. If the recommendations fail to reach their target savings or Congress rejects them, then across-the-board cuts in federal spending will be implemented Jan. 1, 2013, for all programs except Medicaid, Social Security and veterans’ benefits.

CHA will develop an advocacy strategy for the fall, and encourages hospitals to continue communicating with their representatives about the vital health care services and jobs they provide in their communities. Contact: Anne O’Rourke, (202) 488-4494,