California and federal wage and hour laws are complex, particularly in a hospital environment. Keeping current on meal and rest period rules, overtime obligations, and pay stub and payday obligations is a challenge for hospitals and health systems of any size.
CHA offers members an annual Labor and Employment Law seminar, which brings hospital human resources executives up-to-date information on wage and hour issues. In addition, CHA issues member memoranda on significant developments. CHA devotes resources at both state and federal levels to advocate on behalf of hospitals with regard to legislation, regulations and enforcement activity.
Governor Brown signed a bill yesterday that will raise the minimum wage in California from $8 per hour to $10 per hour. The increase will be implemented in two one-dollar increments, from the current rate of $8 per hour to $9 per hour beginning July 1, 2014, and then to $10 per hour beginning Jan. 1, 2016. The bill, AB 10, was authored by Assemblymember Luis Alejo (D-Salinas). This change will also impact the minimum salary required to be paid to exempt employees, which is tied to the minimum wage pursuant to California law. As of July 1, 2014, the minimum salary of exempt employees will be $37,440 and will increase to $41,600 on Jan. 1, 2016.